Malaga 0 Leeds 0

Last updated : 28 November 2002 By The Gas Man

Although the game never really sparked into life, Whites boss Terry Venables will no doubt be delighted with a result that eases the pressure on him for the time being.

The first half brought little of note, although United striker Alan Smith again incurred the wrath of the match referee.

Just after the half hour he was booked for a push on Malaga defender Romero and five minutes later was fortunate to escape further punishment for following through on home keeper Pedro Contreras.

Of the chances, Harry Kewell had a couple of early efforts and then after 14 minutes almost set up Smith for a tap-in at the far post.

The home side showed little in attack throughout the first 45 minutes and Kewell forced a save from Contreras at his near post to end a poor first half.

Soon after the restart Julio Cesar Dely Valdes should have done better from close range, but his weak effort allowed Paul Robinson to make the save.

Just after the hour Sandro saw his shot blocked by Jonathan Woodgate and shortly afterwards Romero headed narrowly wide of the far post from a left-wing free-kick.

Fifteen minutes from time, home sub Edgar got past Ian Harte down the left but dragged his shot well wide of the far post from 15 yards.

With seven minutes to play, Edgar's right-wing cross found Dely Valdes, who did well to direct his header on target, but Robinson saved easily.

Leeds for their part rarely looked like scoring, but a goalless draw gives them the advantage going into the Elland Road return.

UEFA Cup 3rd Round 1st Leg
Malaga 0, Leeds 0
Kickoff 28 November 2002 21:00 at La Rosaleda
Referee: Trentalange, A
Final Result
Malaga 0
Leeds 0
Yellow Cards
A.Smith, 32, dissent
Red Cards
Match Squads
Malaga 0
Leeds 0
1. Contreras
2. Roteta
3. Fernando Sanz
4. Valcarce
5. Romero
6. Josemi
7. Iznata
8. Sanchez
9. Sandro
10. Musampa
11. Dely Valdes
1. P.Robinson
2. G.Kelly
3. M.Duberry
4. J.Woodgate
5. I.Harte
6. L.Bowyer
7. E.Bakke
8. S.McPhail
9. J.Wilcox
10. A.Smith
11. H.Kewell
12. Rafa
13. Rojas
14. Litos
15. Edgar
16. Miguel Angel
17. Leko
18. Koke
12. N.Martyn
13. M.Bridges
14. P.Okon
15. J.Burns
16. F.Richardson
17. M.Kilgallon