Walton In League U-21 Squad

Last updated : 30 January 2006 By Kevin Markey
The 18-year-old was selected by manager Peter Taylor in his 33-man squad, to be reduced to 16 in the lead up to the game.

The match will see the best talent from the Coca-Cola Football League against their Italian counterparts from Serie 'B'.

In announcing the squad, Taylor said: "It’ll be a great opportunity for the players involved to come and play at a terrific stadium against European opposition and should be a good night. I don’t get to see every player so I’ve looked at the situation and spoken to certain managers.

"The squad I’ve selected is a big one but it needs to be as the game is a while away and you have to allow for things like injuries. But I’m sure the 16 players who make up the squad on the night will form a strong, competitive side."

The match will be the 13th of its kind, since the two Leagues first met in November 1960 at Milan’s San Siro stadium, when the Italian League won 4-2. The most recent meeting was in November 1998 in Terni and finished 1-1.

Tickets can be purchased through Hull City FC, and are £8 adults, with concessions £4. Under 7’s, accompanied by a paying adult, can attend for free.

The Football League Under-21 Squad:
Goalkeepers; Lee Camp Derby County Scott Flinders Barnsley Ross Turnbull Crewe Alexandra (on loan from Middlesbrough) Jamie Young Rushden & Diamonds (on loan from Reading)
Defenders; Gary Borrowdale Crystal Palace Luke Chambers Northampton Town Andrew Davies Derby County (on loan from Middlesbrough) Simon Francis Tranmere Rovers (on loan from Sheffield United) Andy Holdsworth Huddersfield Town Dean Lewington Milton Keynes Dons Matthew Mills Southampton Wes Morgan Nottingham Forest Richard Stearman Leicester City Kelvin Wilson Notts County Scott Wiseman Hull City
Midfielders; Chris Eagles Watford (on loan from Manchester United) Billy Jones Crewe Alexandra Anthony McNamee Watford James Perch Nottingham Forest Ryan Smith Leicester City (on loan from Arsenal) Tom Soares Crystal Palace Simon Walton Leeds United Ben Watson Crystal Palace John Welsh Hull City Simon Whaley Preston North End
Forwards; Dexter Blackstock Southampton Matt Fryatt Leicester City Cameron Jerome Cardiff City Leroy Lita Reading Izale McLeod Milton Keynes Dons Billy Paynter Hull City David Nugent Preston North End Ashley Young Watford