Players Of The Year

Last updated : 17 April 2009 By Kevin Markey

1971 Norman Hunter - Tough tackling centre- half who contributed to UEFA Cup glory

1972 Peter Lorimer - 29-goal centre-forward who helped Leeds to FA Cup glory

1973 Allan Clarke - High scoring forward who helped Leeds to two cup finals in the same season

1974 Mick Jones - Strong centre-forward whose goals helped Leeds win the league title

1975 Gordon McQueen - Excellent centre-back whose reliability was vital in Leeds reaching their first European Cup final

1976 Paul Madeley - Versatile utility player who helped Leeds finish fifth in the league

1977 Gordon McQueen - Another strong season for McQueen who helped Leeds achieve a secure finish

1978 Tony Currie - Solid midfielder who gave Leeds another season of security

1979 Brian Flynn - Pint-sized midfielder who did well to guide Leeds to a solid finish

1980 John Lukic - Promising 19 year old goalkeeper who enjoyed a great season between the posts

1981 Trevor Cherry - Experienced defender who helped keep Leeds clear of danger

1982 Eddie Gray - Experienced head whose skills were not enough to prevent relegation

1983 Kenny Burns - Combative defender whose efforts to win promotion for Leeds were ultimately in vain

1984 Tommy Wright - Highly promising youngster who completed a Second Division season at just 18

1985 Neil Aspin - Hard working young right-back who inspired Leeds to another solid season

1986 Ian Snodin - Creative midfielder who scored 7 goals in all competitions

1987 John Sheridan - Effective midfielder who took Leeds to the verge of glory in the Second Division and the FA Cup

1988 Peter Haddock - Quality defender who returned good value on his £45k transfer fee

1989 Ian Baird - Popular striker who hit the target 10 times in the Second Division

1990 Chris Fairclough - Reliable centre-back who contributed massively to Leeds winning promotion

1991 David Batty - Solid midfielder who helped Leeds finished fourth in their first top flight campaign for almost a decade

1992 Tony Dorigo - Australian-born left-back whose skill helped Leeds win the league title

1993 Gordon Strachan - Hard working veteran midfielder who inspired Leeds to an eventful run in the European Cup

Gary McAllister - Stylish Scottish midfielder who helped Leeds finish fifth in the Premiership

1995 Brian Deane - Giant striker who helped Leeds qualify for the UEFA Cup

1996 Tony Yeboah - Strong Ghanian striker who topped the club's goalscoring charts with 12 Premiership strikes

1997 Nigel Martyn - Heroic goalkeeper who had a fine first season at Elland Road

1998 Lucas Radebe - Reliable South African defender who inspired Leeds to a UEFA Cup place

1999 Lee Bowyer - Combative 22-year-old midfielder who ensured another UEFA Cup campaign

2000 Harry Kewell - Excellent young attacking midfielder who helped Leeds reach the UEFA Cup semi finals and qualify for the Champions League

2001 Lee Bowyer - Another productive season for the combative midfielder

2002 Rio Ferdinand - 24-year-old central defender who excelled in his first full season at Elland Road

Paul Robinson - Young goalkeeper who established himself in the Elland Road goal during their most troubled season for years

2004 Alan Smith - Impressive 24-year-old striker who couldn't quite keep Leeds in the Premiership

2005 Neil Sullivan - Experienced goalkeeper who helped Leeds complete a stable season in the Championship

2006 Shaun Derry - Tenacious midfielder who became a popular figure amongst the fans'.

2007 Eddie Lewis -American midfielder being only the fourth non-British player in the clubs history to receive the award.

2008 Jermaine Beckford
- Scored 20 goals to help take Leeds to the Play-off final.

2009 Jermaine Beckford
- Became only the 5th player in Leeds' history to score over 30 goals in a season.